Blessed with Sight

mountains in utah

Photo: Deer Valley, Utah

Can you believe this sight? It sure took my breath away when I saw this. Let me ask you something. What’s the first thing that pops into your mind when you see a sight like this? What I thought was, “Wow, God is good.” Then, I hurried and took a picture before the sun set behind the mountains.

Now close your eyes for a second. What if when you opened them everything was suddenly dark? Could you imagine not being able to see? You wouldn’t be able to see where you were going, what anyone looked like, and any gorgeous view like this one. Oh, and don’t forget that you wouldn’t be able to read this either. Let that sink in for a minute.

Life rushes past all of us and we all rush through life. No human on this earth stops and stares at every little detail in their day in awe of what God has done. I’m not saying that anyone should do that, but I’m saying we need to slow down and look at our blessings.

God has given each of us the ability to see. He didn’t give everyone on earth the ability to see, but he gave each of you reading this it. Do you ever think about why He made a person blind and not you? Each of us have been blessed with an incredible gift, but none of us ever look at it that way.

Psalm 27:4 says,One thing I ask of the LORD, this is what I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD and to seek Him in His temple.”  

What part of that verse stuck with you the most? For me, it was “gaze upon the beauty of the LORD”. I don’t know about you, but those mountains in that picture look like the Lord’s beauty to me. The Lord has blessed you with sight because He wants you to see what beauty He has created. He begs you to let Him in so He can create that same beauty in you. I’m not saying God will make you more physically attractive or anything like that. What I’m saying is, He will shine His light through you so you can glorify Him. 

 

The 3 Part Challenge:

1) Write down 5 things that you always take for granted.

2) Over the next couple days, stop and stare in awe at the beauty the Lord has created on this earth. Whether it’s two little kids eating ice cream or a beautiful sunset in the park, give thanks to God for the beauty He has made.

3) Pray this verse to the Lord today:

“Open my eyes that I may see wonderful things in Your law.” –Psalm 119:18

Keep your eyes wide open as you read scripture. You’d be amazed at what you can get out of it.

Leave a Reply

