He is Holy

he is holy

As we venture into Holy Week, we need to decide what the word “holy” means to us. In church, the preacher always talks about how holy Jesus is. During worship, we sing songs with lyrics like “worship his holy name”. But have we ever sat back and thought about what holy means?

According to Merriam-Webster dictionary, holy means “exalted or worthy of complete devotion as one perfect in goodness and righteousness”. To me, that definition is the epitome of holy. When you think about Jesus, do you consider him as “perfect in goodness and righteousness”? Well if you don’t, you probably should get on that. He is perfect. No one else is. That is why He is worthy of complete devotion. 

Let me ask you a question. Do you completely devote your life to God? Be honest with yourself. As hard as it is to admit, I don’t. I wish I did. As humans though, it’s hard to give over our lives because we are all self-centered.

Imagine a world with no one on it but you. You are all alone. You have no one to talk to or interact with. I would go crazy with boredom. Now picture a world with just you and Jesus. He is the only one you can talk to or interact with. Think about what’d you ask him. Y’all become best friends. Then he says to you, “give me your life”. You think, woah there, Jesus, no one said anything about giving up my life. He can tell you are a little frazzled and says, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” 

What would you do if Jesus was looking you in the eye and said this to you?

I know it’s challenging to let go of all of the earthly desires. I personally struggle with it every single day. But when you are tempted to choose the desires of this world over Christ, think about how much greater Jesus is.

The Challenge:

Read this verse. Write it down. Think about what it means.

Romans 12:1-2: “So brothers and sisters, since God has shown us great mercy, I beg you to offer your lives as a living sacrifice to him. Your offering must be only for God and pleasing to him, which is the spiritual way for you to worship. Do not be shaped by this world; instead be changed within by a new way of thinking. Then you will be able to decide what God wants for you; you will know what is good and pleasing to him and what is perfect. “

Jesus died for you. Did I mention He got nailed to a cross for you? And guess what? He volunteered. I bet you no other person you know would do this for you. Let God shape you. Let Him define you. Don’t try to please the people of this world because it’s just too hard. Not everyone on this earth is going to love you, but God will always love you unconditionally.

Prayer:

Lord, let me give my life completely to You. Help me let go of all earthly desires. Let everything I do be pleasing to You. Help me trust that You will give me everything I need to carry on in this life. Most of all, help me glorify your Holy name. Amen. 

Leave a Reply

