Words of Wisdom

“Reckless words pierce like a sword, but words of the wise bring healing.” (Proverbs 12:18)

I think we all have heard the words “think before you speak”. It’s a helpful statement. Words can pierce like a sword or bring healing. Which one do you want to do?

Speak wisely, my friends, that’s all I’ve got to say. Words can change lives. They can awaken you and lead you into a certain kind of peace that makes you feel alive in the world. In life, bad things need to happen in order for you to experience the good.  Whenever we feel like we’ve got nothing going for us, we should listen for the right words from the right people to help us rise.

In my own experiences, whether the words are from a friend, the Bible, or song lyrics, the right words can change the way I view life and how precious it is. When I feel down in the darkness, I count on my friends’ words to awaken me and cause me to look at the world differently. With encouragement, I can’t help but love everyone and all of the beautiful things the world has to offer. Each and everyone one of us has the power to change lives through the tongue. We can make someones day with words of encouragement or wreck it with hurtful words. What would you rather do?

There will be times when no earthly person’s words can help you pull through. However, God is there for those words of strength. With me, whether it is through Bible verses or through songs of worship, the words touch my heart in a way that I could never do to myself or others. It is the most refreshing thing in the world when I read my daily devotional only to find that the lesson has to do with exactly what I had been going through that day. I feel like God is sitting down with me and saying, “Elle, I’m here to help you find peace through my words. Just listen.” We all need to sit back and enjoy what the Lord has to say to us.

We take words for granted all the time. Well, I guess we have an unlimited amount, but we need to choose them wisely. It’s not right for us to use the Lord’s name in vain. I’m guilty of it. Most of us are, but our Holy Lord does not deserve us mistreating His name. He’s done incredible things for us, and we decide to throw around his name unjustly. Come on, guys. We can do better than that. We also should purify our tongue. With that, I mean cut the cussing out. God doesn’t like bad words. He likes the good ones, the ones that make each other stronger and glorify Him.

Let me tell you. There are a lot of bible verses about profanity. Here are a few:

“Let there be no filthiness nor foolish talk nor crude joking, which are out of place, but instead let there be thanksgiving.” (Ephesians 5:4)

“Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.” (Ephesians 4:29)

 “I tell you, on the day of judgment people will give account for every careless word they speak, for by your words you will be justified, and by your words you will be condemned.” (Matthew 12:36-37)

These verses aren’t meant to scare you, but to help you. It’s a reminder to speak words of wisdom to each other. Words are a true blessing, so we should use them to enhance life, not destroy it.

“Death and life are in the power of the tongue, And those who love it will eat its fruit.” (Proverbs 18:21)

Challenge:

Try to cut out the swearing. Every time you catch yourself cursing or using the Lord’s name wrong, apologize. Also, I encourage you to write down some Bible verses on words. Put them on sticky notes and use them as reminders on how to use them for the glory of God.

Prayer:

Lord, purify my tongue. Let no profane speech come out of my mouth. Help me choose my words wisely in order to lift You and others up. Open my ears so I can hear the wise words from You and others also. Amen. 

 

20140421-203433.jpg

Leave a Reply

