Look Upon Him for Rest

I don’t know about y’all, but I am tired a lot. Some days just wipe me out. Everyday life is so busy, and sometimes we feel like we may fall apart. I feel sorry for those people who don’t believe in God. I mean, come on, what’s their secret to being sane without the Lord? Maybe, they aren’t. Anyhow, I know I wouldn’t be able to make it through the day with God carrying me through. Life can be burdensome when you have to carry a lot on your shoulders. It’s hard to balance all of the different activities without being overwhelmed with fatigue. There’s only one way to overcome this. Jesus.

“but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.” (Isaiah 40:31)

Wow, I wish I could run and not be weary. After about a lap around the track, I feel like collapsing. However, the point is not the fact that I may be slightly out of shape, but that I can’t do tiring things alone. When I’m doing those field sprints, I have to ask the Lord to get me through them without getting sick. I pray something like, Lord, give me strength to get me through this, or I can do all things through Christ which strengthens me. Whether the hard work you’re doing is physical or not, by just praying these words, you’ll feel more empowered.

Sometimes I’m just too weak and tired to even get out of bed. Does anyone else have this problem? I have some good advice on how to make waking up easier. Right when you open your eyes in the morning, I’d suggest praying to the Lord. It starts off your day on the right foot, especially when you’re a Mr. Grumpy Pants in the morning. It’s a little embarrassing to admit, but I always sing or say under my breath a little song when I wake up. It goes to Psalm 118:24: this is the day, this is the day that the Lord has made, that the Lord has made, I will rejoice, I will rejoice, and be glad in it and be glad in it, this is the day that the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad in it, this is the day, this is the day that the Lord has made. Amen. 

Do whatever floats your boat in the morning to start your day off on a good note with God. Throughout the day, pray to Him to give you strength to do the challenging things. Nobody can get through the day without the Lord helping them. God BEGS for you to come to him for strength and rest. Why not take Him up on his amazing offer?

“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” (Matthew 11:28-30)

 

One thought on “Look Upon Him for Rest

  1. Thank you for this post Eleanor. Isaiah 40:31 is one of my favorite verses. As school winds down I have had tiring days with only more full, busy days ahead before the year ends. Such a good reminder to enjoy each day to the fullest knowing that God will carry me through it.

Leave a Reply

