Blessed Are The Givers

“In all things I have shown you that by working hard in this way we must help the weak and remember the words of the Lord Jesus, how he himself said, ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.” (Acts 20:35)

Do you ever get that good feeling after you help someone? Maybe you helped your neighbor carry in the groceries or maybe you gave a friend some math help, whatever it was, you must have felt happy to have helped them. It’s a true blessing when somebody helps you out in time of need, so why not pass along the help to someone else?

I know that a kid’s favorite thing is receiving presents. When I was little, my favorite part of Christmas was Santa. I mean, free gifts, why not? To this day, I still like getting gifts, but something has changed in me as I’ve grown up. I love to see the expression on people’s faces when they receive gifts, especially the gifts I picked out.

However, you can give more than just a physical gift. The most precious gift of all, I personally think, is time. Taking time to tend to one another’s need is crucial because it allows us to take the focus away from ourselves for a moment and devote it to somebody else. I know all of us could use more time in our lives to get things done, but God didn’t give us limitless time for a reason. He limits our time in a day because He wants us to use it wisely and not all for ourselves. A good challenge for us is to take some time out of our jam packed day to devote to someone other than ourselves. The reward is much greater than the reward we would get from spending the time on ourselves.

Let us be cheerful in our giving. Let us do it for God and not for ourselves. It’s hard not to be prideful while giving to others, but we must remind ourselves it’s for the Lord. “Each man should give what he has decided in his heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.” (2 Corinthians 9:7)

In 2 Corinthians 9:7, the bible tells us to not be reluctant in our giving. When we spend time on others, we shouldn’t be unhappy while doing it. We shouldn’t feel like it’s a burden to take time out of our day for our neighbors. The Lord placed that time in your day for the purpose of serving others. Being a servant for the Lord should be something that lights you up inside. When you give to someone, it should warm your heart as much as it warms their heart. For, the Lord will bless you far beyond how you’ve blessed someone else.

Challenge:

Spend time on others everyday. It can be as simple as running an errand for someone to baking a cake for a friend.

Prayer:

Lord, help me serve others for the glory of You alone. Let me not be prideful, but humble when I give to others. Let it come from my heart and not from reluctance. Guide me to become a cheerful giver in my everyday life. Amen. 

Leave a Reply

