There Ain’t No Mountain High Enough


I am sorry it has been a while since my last post. I’ve been busy out in the Pacific Northwest on an adventure program called Moondance Adventures. I’m so incredibly blessed to have gone on this trip and to have met some amazing people. If you don’t mind, I’d like to share how The Lord pushed me out of my comfort zone to figure out what I’m made of.

There’s something about the way the mountain side is lit with head lamps in the middle of the night. In the darkness of the night on July 5th, I climbed up Mt. Rainier in Washington. It’s an incredible sight to see all of the climbers look like little ants of light trying to achieve the same goal as you.

God holds the whole world in his hands. When you’re afraid, God goes before you and holds onto you. You can’t experience The Lord without going outside of your comfort zone. I’m terrified of heights and never do anything on the edge, but something inside of me just pulled me to Rainier. Oh boy, I had no idea what I was getting myself into. I didn’t think about how it is one of the biggest mountains in North America. Imagine an almost twenty four hour climb where some parts were under twenty degrees in the dark..kinda scary huh? Or the fact you’re over 14,000 feet above sea level?! I don’t know about you, but knowing that if you trip, you’re basically done for scares me a teeny weeny bit.

“But the Lord stood with me and strengthened me” (2 Timothy 4:17)

What I learned from Rainier was that you have to go into the climb with the right mindset. It’s a mental game. I went in with the mindset that no matter what The Lord was going to get me up that mountain one way or another. And guess what? He did. I was one of the three girls on my trip to summit Mt. Rainier. Honestly, without God, there would’ve been no way. He kept me company all of those indescribable hours. There were times when I couldn’t see my feet and times when it was hard to take a simple breath. However, God pushed me to my limit to see what I was made of. He forced me up that mountain so I could know that I can do about anything with His help.

“And the Lord, He is the One who goes before you. He will be with you, He will not leave you nor forsake you; do not fear nor be dismayed.” (Deuteronomy 31:8)

I feel that The Lord wishes for us to explore the magnificent world He designed. It’s a way of worshiping Him and His glory. At about 4 am, we took a break before our last stretch to the summit. I looked out over the mountains below and saw a sea of pink invading the sky and the world around me. The sun was neon orange and was peaking through the thick clouds. It’s like God wanted to whip up a special show for us on that mountain. It was simply unbelievable and brought tears to my eyes. The way to experience these one of a kind moments is by testing the waters and trying something new and crazy.

What is God calling you to do? Is there something you’re afraid to do? I challenge you to step outside your comfort zone and explore what God has to offer. It’s way better to take on the challenge than looking at it from your safety bubble. No matter what it is, God will be with you step for step even on the hardest mountains.

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” (Philippians 4:13)

If you’d like more information about Moondance Adventures or climbing Mt. Rainier, don’t hesitate to ask!

rainier

Leave a Reply

