Two Little Words

Did you know that two little simple words can make someone’s day? Those words could even make their week. Take a guess at what those words are. If you guessed thank you, you are correct.

I will never forget the time I saw a guy’s jaw drop because of those two words. While on Mt. Rainier, my group and I stopped at 10,000 feet to eat and sleep a few hours before we ascended to the summit. It was about 15 of us crammed in a wooden shack the size of maybe a one car garage. It was quite the experience. Anyway, this guy who is only a few years older than us brings in hot water for us. We all tell him thank you because that’s just the normal thing to do. The expression on his face was priceless. Tears came to his eyes. It was pitiful. He was so astonished at the fact that we told him thank you. He goes, “Out of the 50 times I have helped groups climb this mountain, you guys are the only ones to tell me thank you”.

Let that sink in for a second. I mean, wow. This guy did everything in his will to make us comfortable and safe on our climb. You would have thought he had gotten a thank you before.

I feel like that’s what God goes through every second of the day for us. He gives and gives and gives to us, and we seldom remember to utter a thank you.

Recently, I have seen the problem of hunger show up. I read an article on hunger in the U.S. the other day in National Geographic. More than 48 million Americans rely on food stamps for their meals. A large percentage of them are white people with jobs and a home.

At the beginning of the summer, I helped out at a food bank in Oklahoma. People would come in and shop for the food they needed for that week. My job was to tell these people how many of each thing they could get. The people I helped didn’t look any different than I did. Except one thing was different. They were extremely thankful for the food they were receiving. I saw God in each and every one of their smiles of gratitude.

If you think about it, there are so many little things in our lives we should be thankful for. Food, clean water, and family are just a couple. What about the blessing of forgiveness or mercy or his never ending love?

Whatever is, be thankful. When your day takes a turn for the worst, think about how much you have and give thanks.

“Thanks be to God for his inexpressible gift!” –2 Corinthians 9:15

Leave a Reply

